top of page
  • Writer's pictureBailey Greaves

Blog Post #3

I believe that Lamott’s piece advertises good advice to all writers of any nature. She emphasizes that it is important to write anything down and worry about fixing it later. I found it funny how she described her fears about someone finding her first drafts. I can relate because often times I hate people reading my writing, even when it’s the “final draft”. I also feel like she makes a good point in saying how by writing everything down, something great will come out of it. By letting your mind take control and typing your thoughts, something very fascinating could be the result. Lamott's writing also reassured me that no one is the "perfect writer". All writers go through numerous drafts until their writing is perfect. I was glad to hear that even professional writers struggle with writing sometimes. Furthermore, I really enjoyed how we got to practice this exercise in class. By practicing it in class, I was able to better understand the author’s piece. Additionally, a lot of times, teachers and professors will say to do something a certain way, but never show through example. Personally, I try to be really organized and I appreciate order when I’m trying to write. On my own, I would never try to do a first draft where I write down everything I’m thinking because it seems so disorganized. But after reading Lamott’s piece and trying it in class, I think it may be a promising idea to try for my future writings.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog Post #4

The Bedford Book of Genres is full of helpful tips that assist me as I approach the future writing projects. I don’t often enjoy writing, so I appreciate learning about ways to specifically help me im

Blog Post #2

I feel that Roxanne Gay’s piece artistically brought together a book review and personal narrative that can spark loads of emotion for anyone who has ever experienced nostalgia. It sends a powerful me

Blog Post #1

Within the first chapter of The Bedford Book of Genres, the author further clarifies significant topics, such as genre, audience, and purpose. One aspect of the chapter that I found particularly helpf

bottom of page